2020 Morris Trophy winners

Honoring the Pac-12’s two best big men

Oregon’s Thibodeaux and USC’s Vera-Tucker awarded

Virtual awards ceremony set for Thursday, January 21

Kayvon Thibodeaux (Oregon photo)

Congratulations to University of Oregon sophomore Kayvon Thibodeaux and USC junior Alijah Vera-Tucker, winners of the 2020 Morris Trophy.

Thibodeaux and Vera-Tucker will be honored during the 41st annual Morris Trophy awards presentation, set for 12–1 pm on Thursday, January 21. This year’s presentation will take place virtually, and all WAC members are invited to tune in. Click here for details.

The Washington Athletic Club is home of the Morris Trophy, given annually to the best offensive lineman and best defensive lineman in the Pac-12.

Thibodeaux and Vera-Tucker are familiar with each other, having faced off in last month’s Pac-12 championship game.

***Click here to reserve for the virtual awards presentation***

Alijah Vera-Tucker (USC photo)

Thibodeaux, a 6-foot-5, 250-pound defensive end, earned MVP honors in the Pac-12 championship game with 12 quarterback hurries, two tackles for loss, and a third-down sack in the third quarter. He started all seven Oregon games in 2020 and led the Ducks in sacks (3) and tackles for loss (9.5) for the second consecutive season. He also led all Pac-12 defensive linemen with 38 tackles, including 23 solo tackles.

Thibodeaux follows in the footsteps of former Oregon player DeForest Buckner, who won the defensive honor in 2015. Oregon’s Penei Sewell won the 2019 offensive award.

USC’s Vera-Tucker is a 6-foot-4, 315-pound junior offensive tackle projected to go in the first round of the 2021 NFL draft. He was selected to the All-Pac-12 first team for his 2020 performance. He started all six USC games this past season and was a team captain. During his college career, he appeared in 31 games, starting 19.

Vera-Tucker became the first Trojan to win either side of the Morris Trophy since Matt Kalil won the offensive award in 2011.

Morris Trophy winners are selected by their peers. Each year, Pac-12 defensive players vote for the offensive winner, and offensive players choose the defensive winner.

For more information, contact WAC Athletic Programs Manager Darin Barr at 206.464.3074 or dbarr@wac.net.

More News

Join the adult WAC Basketball League
Coffee Shop Naming Contest
Exterior building cleaning to run through fall

More Press Releases

2021 Morris trophy winners
Chuck Nelson joins club advisory board
Our 10th Platinum Club Award