39th Annual Morris Trophy

Morris Trophy a UW sweep

Congratulations to the University of Washington and Greg Gaines and Kaleb McGary for sweeping this year’s Morris Trophy awards. It is the fifth time in the award’s 39-year history that the winners have come from the same school. Washington also swept the award in 1991.

The winners were announced in December and will be awarded during a luncheon at noon on Thursday, January 17, in the Crystal Ballroom. The Morris Trophy is given annually to the best offensive lineman and the best defensive lineman in the Pac-12. Players from the opposing side of the line around the league vote on each year’s winners. Gaines won on the defensive side and McGary on the offensive side.

There’s still time to grab a seat to this year’s luncheon, the premier college football awards event in the Northwest. This year’s keynote speaker will be former Seattle Seahawks defensive end Cliff Avril.

“We’re thrilled to book another great speaker for this event,” says Wayne Milner, WAC Senior Vice President Athletics, Special Projects & Community Partners.

As home of the Morris Trophy, the WAC annually hosts the awards ceremony, which attracts a long list of local football stars. To join the excitement, contact WAC Athletic Programs
Manager Darin Barr at 206.464.3074 or dbarr@wac.net. Tickets are just $40.

As published in the January/February 2019 issue of WAC Magazine.

—Posted December 29, 2018

More Club Happenings

Inspiration from within
Club Shop remodel begins
Join the Club Events fun!