Morris Trophy Awards

40th year of honoring Pac-12’s best big men

Utah’s Bradlee Anae and Oregon’s Penei Sewell named league’s best two linemen

Two of the best linemen in college football will be honored during the 40th annual Morris Trophy awards luncheon on Thursday, January 16, at the WAC. Utah’s Bradlee Anae and Oregon’s Penei Sewell were announced as winners of the 2019 Morris Trophy in early December. The Morris Trophy annually goes to the Pac-12’s best two linemen—one on offense and one on defense.

Bradlee Anae

***Reserve your place at the awards luncheon on January 16***

Anae, a senior defensive end, exploded for 12.5 sacks and 13.5 tackles for loss in 2019. He entered his senior season already well-known around the league, and lived up to his preseason first team All-Pac-12 selection. At 6-foot-3 and 265 pounds, he is widely expected to be an early round selection in the 2020 NFL draft. Utah and Texas face off on New Year’s Day at the Alamo Bowl in San Antonio.

Sewell, a sophomore, plays offensive tackle and has quickly established himself as one of the elite blockers in Pac-12 history. He is the first sophomore offensive lineman to ever win the Morris Trophy.

Penei Sewell

At 6-foot-6 and 325 pounds, he is an imposing presence on the line and a key blindside protector for Ducks quarterback Justin Herbert. At Oregon, Sewell replaced 2017 Morris Trophy winner Tyrell Crosby, who currently plays with the Detroit Lions. Sewell and the Ducks play Wisconsin in the Rose Bowl on New Year’s Day.

WAC members and their guests are invited to attend the Morris Trophy awards luncheon, set for 12–1:30 pm on Thursday, January 16, in the Crystal Ballroom. Tickets are $40. Reserve with Athletic Programs Manager Darin Barr at 206.464.3074 or This year’s keynote speaker will be 2008 Morris Trophy winner and former Seattle Seahawks player Nick Reed.

More News

Celebrating college rugby’s best
Team Member Relief Fund
WAC Rugby 7s and Alliant Insurance partnership announced